SSC CGL Syllabus

SSC CGL Syllabus 2018 Tier I, II, III, IV

SSC Preliminary exam will be conducted from 25th July to 20th August, 2018. Here in this post we will discuss the detailed syllabus of SSC CGL Tier I, II, III, IV so that it will be easy for you to prepare for the upcoming exams. Every year the syllabus keeps on changing so we have tried our best to keep you updated with the latest syllabus and exam pattern.


SSC Tier I Syllabus

In this candidates will be given 100 question of 200 marks. Now this 100 question would be divided into 4 section where each section comprise of 25 questions. Only online mode is applicable for Tier I.

For each right answer 1 mark will be added and for each wrong answer there will be a negative marking of 0.5 marks.

Exam sections Questions Marks
General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English 25 50
Total 100 200
Total Time
  • 75 minutes
  • cerebral Palsy- 100 minutes
Examination mode online



SSC CGL Tier II exam pattern and syllabus

Candidates who qualify Tier I are eligible to appear for Tier II exam pattern. Those who have qualified Tier I have to answer for 3 papers in which 3rd is optional for everyone except the candidates who are applying for Statistical Investigator/Junior Statistical Officer posts.

Paper Questions Marks
English 200 200
Quantitative Abilities 100 200
Statistical Methods (optional) 100 200
Total 400 600
Total Time
  • 2 hour for each paper

Marking Scheme:

Paper Positive marks Negative marks
English 1 0.25
Quantitative Abilities 2 0.50
Statistical Methods (optional) 2 0.50



SSC CGL Tier III Exam pattern and syllabus

All the candidates who have qualified Tier I and Tier II are eligible to appear for tier III exam. Basically it is the test of candidate’s writing skills.  In this phase candidates have to answer Descriptive Paper either English or Hindi. This paper consist of 100 marks question in which applicants have to score minimum 33 percentage to qualify Tier III. The paper could contain the task of writing an essay/application/letter or anything else of 150 words.

Exam type Descriptive Paper
Language English or Hindi
Total Marks 100
Passing marks 33%
Syllabus 10+2 level
Duration 1 hour



SSC CGL Tier IV exam pattern and syllabus

After clearing the three rounds, a data entry test has to be given by the candidate. Data Entry Skill is also known as Computer Proficiency Test (CPT). Here candidates have to type 8,000 words in one hour or 2000 words in 15 minutes. This test is conducted to judge the typing skills of the candidates.


We hope all your doubts are clear regarding SSC CGL exams. All the very best for your preparations.


Search terms

SSC CGL Complete syllabus 2018, SSC CGL Tier I II III IV syllabus, SSC CGL latest syllabus, SSC CGL updated syllabus 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *